Arizona State Sun Devils

The Arizona State Sun Devils are the athletic teams representing Arizona State University. ASU has nine men's and eleven women's varsity teams competing in the NCAA Pacific-12 Conference. The men compete in baseball,basketballcross countryfootballgolfswimming/divingtrack, and wrestling. Women compete in basketball, cross country, golf, gymnasticssoccersoftball, swimming/diving, tennis, track, volleyball, and water polo.

Athletes at ASU are known as "Sun Devils." The mascot was adopted in 1946; earlier nicknames were the Normals and later, the Bulldogs. The Sun Devil mascot, Sparky, was designed by former Disney illustrator Bert Anthony. ASU's chief rival is the University of Arizona Wildcats.[1]