Denver Nuggets

When the Nuggets joined the NBA in the 1976–77 season, they retained the pick-axe logo on their jerseys from the ABA days.

The Denver Nuggets are a professional basketball team based in DenverColorado that plays in the National Basketball Association. The team was founded as the Denver Larks in 1967 as a charter franchise of the American Basketball Association (ABA) but changed its name to Rockets before the first season. It changed its name again to the Nuggets in anticipation of an ABA-NBA merger in 1974, and played for the final ABA Championship title in 1976, losing to the New York Nets. The team joined the NBA in 1976 after the ABA-NBA merger and has had some periods of success, making the playoffs for nine consecutive seasons in the 1980s and doing the same for the previous ten seasons. However, it has not made an appearance in a championship round since its last year in the ABA. They have had many notable players on their roster including Chauncey BillupsCarmelo AnthonyAllen IversonKenneth FariedDikembe MutomboTy Lawson,Spencer FlohrGeorge McGinnisKenyon MartinNene HilarioMarcus CambyLafayette LeverDan Issel & Alex English.