Texas Rangers

The team's name is borrowed from the famouslaw enforcement agency of the same name.

The franchise was established in 1961 by the name of the Washington Senators, an expansion team awarded to Washington, D.C., after the city's first ballclub, the original Washington Senators, moved to Minnesota and became the Twins. After the 1971 season, the new Senators moved toArlington, Texas, and debuted as the Rangers the following spring.